HND Business


Recently redeveloped BTEC Higher Nationals are designed to provide a specialist vocational programme, linked to professional body requirements and National Occupational Standards where appropriate. They offer a strong, sector-related emphasis on practical skills development alongside the development of requisite knowledge and understanding. The qualifications provide a thorough grounding in the key concepts and practical skills required in their sector and their national recognition by employers allows direct progression to employment. A key progression path for BTEC HNC and HND learners is to the second or third year of a degree or honours degree programme, depending on the match of the BTEC Higher National units to the degree programme in question. The Pearson BTEC HNC and HND in Business (QCF) offer a progression route to the professional qualifications offered by various professional bodies in the business sector.

The purpose of BTEC Higher Nationals in Business is to develop students as professional, self-reflecting individuals able to meet the demands of employers in the business sector and adapt to a constantly changing world. The qualifications aim to widen access to higher education and enhance the career prospects of those who undertake them.

The objectives of the new Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals have been to ensure:

  • Employer engagement
  • Work relatedness
  • Opportunities for progression to further higher education
  • Alignment with UK higher education expectations
  • Qualifications which are up to date with current professional practice and include professional accreditation where possible.


Who is it for?

BTEC HN’s are followed predominately by full-time learners. They allow progression into or within employment in the business sector, either directly on achievement of the award or following further study to degree level. The Pearson BTEC Level 5 HND in Business (QCF) provides opportunities for learners to apply their knowledge and practical skills in the workplace.


Entry Requirements:

  • Students on the programme will be at least 18 years of age.
  • Students should possess a reasonable standard of English/ Literacy in order to complete the programme (preferably at CEFR B2/ IELTS 5.5)
  • Students are expected to have achieved at least one GCE A level pass or relevant Level 3 qualification of appropriate Credit value.


What will you learn?

Qualification credit value: a minimum of 240 credits, of which 120 credits are at Level 5, and 120 credits are at Level 4 and usually attained via the HNC.

The awarding body is Pearson Education Limited which is one of the UK's largest awarding organisations, offering academic and vocational qualifications and testing to schools, colleges, employers and other places of learning, both in the UK and internationally.

We are offering the following Unit options (may be subject to change):

Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Business

Unit Mandatory Core Units Credit Level
1 Business and the Business Environment 15 4
2 Marketing Essentials 15 4
3 Human Resource Management 15 4
4 Management and Operations 15 4
5 Management Accounting 15 4
6 Managing a Successful Business Project (Pearson-set) 15 4


Unit Optional Units Credit Level
7 Business Law 15 4
10 Financial Accounting 15 4


Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Business

Unit Mandatory Core Units Credit Level
11 Research Project (Pearson-set) 30 5
12 Organisational Behaviour 15 5


Unit Optional Units Credit Level
31 Statistics for Management 15 5
32 Business Strategy 15 5
35 Developing Individuals, Teams and Organisations 15 5
41 Brand Management 15 5
44 Pitching and Negotiation Skills 15 5


How is it assessed?

BTEC Higher Nationals in Business are assessed using a combination of internally assessed centre-devised internal assignments (which are set and marked by centres) and internally assessed Pearson-set assignments (which are set by Pearson and marked by centres):

  • One core unit for the HNC will be assessed by a mandatory Pearson-set assignment targeted at particular skills;
  • Two core units for the HND will be assessed by a mandatory Pearson-set assignment targeted at particular skills;
  • All other units are assessed by centre-devised internal assignments.

Assessment decisions for BTEC Higher Nationals are based on the specific criteria given in each unit and set at each grade level. The criteria for each unit have been defined according to a framework to ensure that standards are consistent in the qualification and across the suite as a whole. The way in which individual units are written provides a balance of assessment of understanding, practical skills and vocational attributes appropriate to the purpose of the qualifications.

When a student has completed all the assessments for a unit then the assessment team will give a grade for the unit. This is given simply according to the highest level for which the student is judged to have met all the criteria. Therefore:

  • To achieve a Pass, a student must have satisfied all the Pass criteria for the learning outcomes, showing coverage of the unit content and therefore attainment at Level 4 or 5 of the national framework.
  • To achieve a Merit, a student must have satisfied all the Merit criteria (and therefore the Pass criteria) through high performance in each learning outcome.
  • To achieve a Distinction, a student must have satisfied all the Distinction criteria (and therefore the Pass and Merit criteria), and these define outstanding performance across the unit as a whole.


Progression Route

On successful completion of the Level 5 Higher National Diploma, students can develop their careers in the business sector through:

  • Entering employment
  • Continuing existing employment
  • Linking with the appropriate Professional Body
  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • Progressing to university. The Level 5 Higher National Diploma is recognised by Higher Education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant business related courses, for example:
    • BSc (Hons) in Business and Management
    • BA and BSc (Hons) in Business Studies
    • BSc (Hons) in International Management.